Saturday, December 4

Diego Armando Maradona: Why Pelusa did not win the Ballon d’Or (what prevented it and why other Latin Americans have won it)

This November 25th marks the one year anniversary of the death of the Argentine soccer star, Diego Armando Maradona. In addition, on the eve of the 2021 Ballon d’Or award on November 29, the question has arisen as to why did it never obtain this recognition?

The Golden Ball is an award that grants la revista France Football since 1956 individually to the best player registered in a professional soccer championship in Europe.

The award – Ballon d ‘Or in French – was also known as the “Best European Player Award” until 1995, the year in which the status of being a native of Europe was suspended and the choice was expanded on a global scale.

And this was precisely the reason why Maradona could never be a candidate or winner of the award, despite the fact that he played in Europe with Barcelona, ​​Napoli, where he lived his best years, and Sevilla. In addition, he was world champion in 1986 and runner-up in 1990.

From 1982 to 1993 the fuzz made history in world football. He stood out and did all the merits to deserve, at least, according to some international sports newspapers, four Golden Balls.

Oh well. The rules changed in 1995. That year they allowed the participation of footballers from all over the world. The first winner after this decision was the Liberian George Weah, player for teams like PSG and AC Milan.

Since 2010, the Amaury publishing group, which owns France Football, has agreed with Fifa to merge both awards to give rise to the current Fifa Ballon d’Or.

The award achieved greater significance thanks to the large vote of journalists from Europe and other continents. So now, on the eve of the delivery in 2021, which will be on November 29, the situation of Diego Maradona comes to the fore again.

The first Latin American winner of the Golden Ball it was Ronaldo, the phenomenon, in 1997 who played for Barsa, where Maradona was also between 1982 and 1984.

Another prominent Latin American is Lionel Messi, who managed to win six consecutive Golden Balls in his career. Brazilians Kaká, Rivaldo and Ronaldinho they also became creditors of this award.

In the end, the ten could only get two Ballon d’Or in his carrer. One received it in shape honorific in 1995, when the rules changed, and the second having won the World Cup in Mexico. This distinction is different from the one that Messi won, who has won five so far, because it was the World Cup Golden Ball, an award that Fifa decided to give from the 1982 edition to the best soccer player in the world cups.

Along with Maradona, Pelé was also deprived of receiving it more times. Michel Platini, a contemporary of Pelusa, won it three times.

Other Argentine figures such as Alfredo Distéfano and Enrique Omar Sívori, Spanish and Italian nationals, respectively, won this award. Also, Lionel Messi got six of them.

The years in which Maradona was able to win the Ballon d’Or was in 1990, when he got it Lothar Matthäus (Inter, Germany); 1989, Marco Van Basten, (Milan, Holland); 1988, Marco Van Basten (Milan, Holland); 1987 Ruud Gullit (Milan, Holland) and 1986 Igor Belanov, (Dynamo of Kiev, USSR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *