Sunday, November 28

Government Announces Team Leading New Health NZ and Maori Health Authority

The team leading the establishment of the new New Zealand and Maori Health Health Authority has been announced.

No title

The Deputy Minister of Health, Peeni Henare.
Photo: RNZ / Samuel Rillstone

They are part of the reforms that will dismantle the country’s 20 district health boards, to be replaced by a new body, Health New Zealand.

The Māori Health Authority will work together with Health NZ in a joint role, commissioning primary, community and kaupapa Māori services.

Health NZ will be chaired by Rob Campbell, who has extensive experience in private, public and union governance.

Sharon Shea and Tipa Mahuta will co-chair the Maori Health Authority and Shea will also serve on the Health NZ board.

The agency will have a workforce of 80,000 out of 20 DHBs, with an annual operating budget of $ 20 billion and an asset base of approximately $ 24 billion.

“This government is building a truly national health system to provide consistent, high-quality health services across the country. This is another step in fixing the health system to work for everyone,” said Health Minister Andrew Little.

“The future healthcare system will mean that New Zealanders will be able to have equitable access to healthcare to live longer, with the best possible quality of life, no matter who they are or where they live.”

Associate Health Minister Peeni Henare says this marks a significant milestone in progress towards a more equitable healthcare system.

“The new Maori Health Authority will be a game changer for our people. It will grow Maori kaupapa services and give Maori a strong voice in a new system focused on improving the disproportionate health outcomes that have long affected our whanau “.

“The Tā Mason Durie leadership group worked tirelessly to support this appointment process. Ta Mason in particular has ensured that we have obtained the best possible candidates and the combination of skills and experience for what is needed in our future healthcare system. Henare said.

The new appointments

Sharon Shea, Co-Chair of the Maori Health Authority and Board Member of Health New Zealand

Shea (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Hauā, Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Hako) is the current president of the Bay of Plenty DHB. The ministry says it is an experienced leader in the health, disability and community sectors.

Shea became the first permanent Maori Chairman of the Bay of Plenty DHB Board of Directors earlier this year after serving as the interim president since March 2020.

Shea was the director of strategy for the Northern Regional Health Authority and was appointed to the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to Maori health and development.

She has served as a board member and chair of subcommittees in both Auckland DHB and Northland DHB. And she was Chair of the Maori Expert Advisory Group on Health Sector Review and Disability.

Tipa Mahuta, Co-Chair of the Maori Health Authority

Mahuta (Waikato, Maniapoto and Ngapuhi) is the current Vice Chairman of the Manukau County Board of Health District. The ministry says it has experience in facilitation, research, policy and community development, and extensive experience in Iwi governance.

He held one of two Maori positions on the Waikato Regional Council for seven years.

In 2020, she was named Co-Chair of the Waikato River Authority.

Mahuta is also chairman of the Taumata Arowai Māori Advisory Group and a board member of the Te Kotahi Research Center.

He has served on the boards of the Iwi Māori Council at Waikato DHB and Tainui Group Holdings.

Rob Campbell, President of Health New Zealand

The Health Ministry says Campbell is a seasoned professional director with extensive experience in private, public and union governance.

He is currently Chairman of Ara Ake Ltd, SkyCity Entertainment Group Ltd, Tourism Holdings Ltd, Just Move Trust, WEL Networks, NZ Rural Land Company and the Chancellor of Auckland University of Technology.

“With his extensive experience in leading large organizations, these skills will be essential in leading Health New Zealand to become the largest employer in the country,” the ministry said in a statement.

Board members

Health New Zealand

  • Rob Campbell (president)
  • Sharon Shea (Co-Chair, Acting Maori Health Authority)
  • Amy adams
  • Cassandra crowley
  • Happy Mark Gosche
  • Dame Karen Poutasi
  • Vanessa stoddart
  • Dr. Curtis Walker

Maori Health Authority

  • Sharon Shea (co-chair)
  • Tipa Mahuta (co-chair)
  • Dr. Sue Crengle
  • Dr. Mataroria Lyndon
  • Lady Tureiti Moxon
  • Fiona Pimm
  • Awerangi tamihere
  • Dr. Chris Tooley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *