Saturday, December 4

What you need to know: updated alert levels for Auckland, Waikato and the rest of New Zealand

The Delta outbreak in New Zealand has meant that Covid-19 alert level restrictions are constantly being modified to keep the spread under control.

Police at Mercer Border Checkpoint in Auckland

Vehicles leaving Auckland are screened by police and military personnel at a Covid-19 checkpoint on the southern boundary.
Photo: RNZ / Liu Chen

Today, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced the Cabinet decision on alert level changes for Auckland, a community in Waikato, and the rest of New Zealand.

This is what they mean.

Auckland goes to alert level 3

Starting at 11:59 PM on Tuesday 21 September, Auckland will transition to Level 3 for at least two weeks. The decision will be reviewed on Monday, October 4.

People should keep their bubble small and work from home if possible.

If necessary, the bubble can be expanded just to bring in close relatives, older relatives, or caregivers.

You cannot visit friends, neighbors, whānau and relatives who are not part of a bubble.

Schools are largely closed and children must continue to learn from home. But in case that is not possible, masks are mandatory in secondary schools.

Even those who have been vaccinated must follow the same rules.

People over 65 should stay home until they have been vaccinated. Those who are most vulnerable, including those over the age of 65, may request a shorter period of time between doses.

Face coverings are required on public transportation, within retail stores and public places for those 12 and older.

Some companies and services may have clients on their premises. They include supermarkets, dairies, butchers, fishmongers, greengrocers, food banks, gas stations, self-service laundries, banks and financial institutions, hardware stores, for professional customers only, health services, pharmacies, accommodation services, courts and tribunals, social services and community services to maintain critical well-being or crisis support, emergency services, parliamentary services, passenger services, including public transportation by road, rail, air or sea, and school shelters.

All other retail stores can only open for contactless pickup and drop-off.

Up to 10 people can attend a funeral, tangihanga, or burial. The 10-person limit includes kaikaranga, kaikōrero, clergy, or attending staff. Physical distancing and face masks are recommended.

Custom Alert Level 4 on the Waikato

Three new cases of Delta were reported in Whakatīwai.

For five days, there is a Section 70 notice for people living in an area north of SH2 and centered on Mangatangi.

That extends the highway boundary east of Maramarua and southeast of Miranda into the Firth of Thames.

People who work, live or have visited people in that area since September 8 should stay home and watch for symptoms.

People in that region should monitor the ministry’s website for places of interest and look for evidence if they have been in those places at the appropriate time.

Rest of New Zealand remains at Tier 2 with minor changes

The rest of the country will remain at alert level 2, but will go from meetings of 50 to meetings of up to 100.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *